logoalt Hacker News

whynou2ftoday at 5:45 AM5 repliesview on HN

Eventually all those valuable pics they take will be lost if GP is disabled and phone is lost or screen damaged.

And someone will complain - you can't even have sensible defaults.

I understand you perhaps have hatred for google but hosting immich or ente is not for everyone.

It is far easier for average Jose to pay for GP or some cloud.

Unless you plan to setup at least some free cloud don't bother to lecture others


Replies

tdecktoday at 6:24 AM

I've said "no" to this popup at least 100 times. Under what notion of obtaining consent would it be considered acceptable to ask me again the 101st time?

rjh29today at 9:38 AM

I use Dropbox to sync my photos, I still have to tell google not to backup my photos probably 2-3 times a week.

wvhtoday at 10:53 AM

Please don't let it become acceptable to be yelled in the face every few minutes of the day by ads, commercials, notifications and other attacks on our perpetually overstimulated brains, most of which we have no control over at all.

To have a healthy relationship with technology requires holding manufacturers and service providers responsible for our mental health.

noduermetoday at 8:02 AM

It's also not hard to just connect your phone to your laptop, copy your photos off every month or so, and clear the phone storage. I actually can't believe this isn't the normal way people do things. People pay to let Google keep copies of all their photos?! And I mean, setting up your own self-hosted storage for all your photos is neat and stuff, but seriously, seems like overkill. One folder a year on my laptop / backup drive is sufficient for me. I've got "photos_1998" all the way up to "photos_2016". It's a useful test to see if I remember the order of events in my life, when or if I go looking for something.

show 1 reply
gertoptoday at 6:56 AM

I hate Google and their dark patterns as much as the next guy but I agree: Having the pop-up once or twice or even three times is reasonable. A lot of people value the backup more than their privacy.

But after saying no three times, it really ought to leave the user alone...

show 1 reply