logoalt Hacker News

snailmailmantoday at 1:20 AM2 repliesview on HN

Spotify uses this and it annoys me all the time.

If you screenshot what you are listening to, after the screenshot is taken spotify will open a full-screen popup to "share" the song you are listening to. This is quite dumb, especially since if you wanted to share a song via the screenshot, you can do so in the OS-level screenshot UI, and then you would close it and see Spotify's own similar version of the same UI. Spotify just really wants you to use their own share button so that they can track you.


Replies

MBCooktoday at 2:30 AM

I’ve seen another app do that but for a different reason. It’s for security cameras and they use it to show a “hey idiot just press the save a picture button, don’t take screenshots” popup, which is also hostile.

I’m not sure why the app needs to be notified. There must be some use but I can’t think of it off the top of my head.

show 2 replies
smelendeztoday at 4:09 AM

Yes, it is very annoying. But I think they are already tracking you.

They want use to use the share button so your recipient is more likely to open Spotify (or whatever app) themselves.