logoalt Hacker News

LeoPanthera • today at 1:25 AM • 3 replies • view on HN

Early versions of plan mode would erase the chat history and present the plan as the start of a new session when you approved it.

I miss that. It worked really well, and it kept the context clean.


Replies

JasonSage • today at 1:33 AM

In my experience, around the time the author describes as starting to not need plan mode is when erasing the chat history became an anti-feature. I found the agents were doing better when they had the context already, and with the history I no longer needed to micro-manage persisting various caveats and rejections to the plan artifact. The amount of prompt construction necessary went down overall.

➕ show 1 reply
notatoad • today at 2:54 AM

that still essentially works. ask it to write a plan doc to a file. then when you're ready to implement, start a new session with a prompt to review the plan doc and then start building.

8note • today at 3:14 AM

thats a feature flag you can gurn on still