logoalt Hacker News

asdff • today at 4:56 PM • 1 reply • view on HN

No its the same operation just you save instead of not save.


Replies

amiga386 • today at 5:08 PM

It used to be but not now. Your browser is served little slices of the video and audio, and the player adapts in realtime, giving you lower or higher bitrate, depending on your network congestion.

yt-dlp, as far as I know, always asks for the same consistent quality/bitrate of your choosing (and saves them to disk and joins the segments and muxes the video and audio into one stream)

➕ show 1 reply