logoalt Hacker News

nomlast Thursday at 9:31 PM5 repliesview on HN

It is worse than that. It fills up your accounts cloud storage, where your Google docs, sheets, drive files etc are stored.

Once full you are caught in their trap: pay a monthly fee to the mafia or delete your data!

This flow is intentional and they have set up everything to bring you there. The Photo-Backup popup (and arguably the whole photo feature) helps to shovel users more quickly to the end of the monetization funnel.


Replies

JimDabelltoday at 6:53 AM

It’s even worse than that! There is no delete all feature! So if you have 100k photos and make the mistake of saying yes to Google Photos just once, it will fill up all your storage space, block your email until you pay for extra storage, then force you to delete all your photos manually, one page at a time, before you can stop using it. I think that trap is the sleaziest thing I’ve seen Google do.

show 5 replies
gskytoday at 11:42 AM

This is true. it happened to a lot of people that i know

0sdilast Thursday at 9:50 PM

storing important files with google is risky business anyway. you could lose them for any other stupid reason, and im sure there is nothing you can do but blame yourself for trusting them.

whynou2ftoday at 5:45 AM

Eventually all those valuable pics they take will be lost if GP is disabled and phone is lost or screen damaged.

And someone will complain - you can't even have sensible defaults.

I understand you perhaps have hatred for google but hosting immich or ente is not for everyone.

It is far easier for average Jose to pay for GP or some cloud.

Unless you plan to setup at least some free cloud don't bother to lecture others

show 5 replies
globular-toasttoday at 5:26 AM

Gmail uses the same storage space for a few years now. Fill it up and you can't receive emails any more.

show 1 reply