logoalt Hacker News

bcherny • last Saturday at 9:29 PM • 10 replies • view on HN

Auto mode is significantly safer than manual approval in practice. Details about the engineering approach and how we tested whether it is safer here: https://claude.com/resources/articles/auto-mode-default-in-c....


Replies

bulder • last Saturday at 11:07 PM

Auto mode may be significantly safer in the niche case where you want the model to have free reign, in a fully unopinionated environment, where it's allowed to make any changes and make any external calls.

Many of the problems when it comes to the manual approval feel like they stem from the expectation of using auto mode in the first place. After all, what's the point of improving the manual approval and safety matching if auto mode is the end all be all, and what's the point of training the model to output commands in a manner that can be parsed by a human if auto mode is always meant to be used? It's very rare for me to not see "command could not be statically analyzed", because the model keeps outputting bash golf.

➕ show 2 replies
ceejayoz • last Saturday at 9:51 PM

Is that because auto mode is good, or because the manual approval system sucks?

➕ show 4 replies
cozzyd • last Saturday at 10:07 PM

I run CC as its own user on my laptop with no secrets/keys/erc available other than through a LPE exploit or perhaps installing a keylogger. Can I guarantee CC won't attempt any of those things in auto mode?

➕ show 1 reply
j45 • last Sunday at 2:53 AM

That may be for most cases, but it wasn't safe for this password scenario, and likely others that haven't been discovered. Maybe there's a PII setting that can be enabled by default.

furyofantares • last Sunday at 6:51 AM

I completely believe this, but you could also run auto mode classification in manual mode and tell the user the result.

Or even reject anything auto mode rejects while still allowing the user to reject things auto mode accepts. If what's approved is the intersection of what the user is approving and what auto mode thinks is safe then it would be strictly safer than either mode alone.

This would also be a way for users to gain confidence in auto mode before going all in on it.

eterm • last Saturday at 10:24 PM

Just a few days ago, opus 5.5 in auto mode deleted backups that it shouldn't have, and in the "apology" it even said, "Nothing was lost, I didn't delete your original files".

➕ show 2 replies
barbariangrunge • last Monday at 12:20 AM

There's no reason why we shouldn't be able to have the audo-mode safeguards happening when we set things to manual mode. Shouldn't you just have it checking on claude anyway?

barbariangrunge • last Monday at 12:17 AM

> For high-stakes changes to production infrastructure, we still recommend reviewing Claude's actions yourself.

- from the linked article

markasoftware • last Saturday at 10:33 PM

No its not generally safer. It depends on who is doing the approving, the task being completed etc.